10 Magical Movies Like ‘Harry Potter’

photo collage%20%2814%29

Most of us love Harry Potter and his movies. The Harry Potter movies are perhaps the greatest sorcery-based film series of all time. The series is based on the eponymous novels by J. K. Rowling. It is distributed by Warner Bros. and consists of eight fantasy films, beginning with “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” and culminating with “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2”. Many people love magical fantasy movies like Harry Potter. These movies take us into the magical world of Hogwarts, where we could fly on broomsticks, play Quidditch, perform magic spells, concoct potions, meet amazing mythical creatures, make new friends and, fight off evil wizards.

Let’s have a look at the 10 magical movies like ‘Harry Potter’.

Matilda (1996)

Matilda is a 1996 American fantasy comedy film co-produced and directed by Danny DeVito, from a screenplay written by Nicholas Kazan and Robin Swicord. Based on Roald Dahl’s popular 1988 novel of the same name, the movie stars Mara Wilson as the title character with DeVito, Rhea Perlman, Embeth Davidtz and Pam Ferris in supporting roles. The film centers on the titular child prodigy, Matilda Wormwood, who develops psychokinetic abilities and uses them to deal with her disreputable family, and Miss Trunchbull, the ruthless, oppressive, and tyrannical principal of Crunchem Hall Elementary School. [Source: www.collider.com

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (2010)

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice is a 2010 American action-fantasy film produced by Jerry Bruckheimer, directed by Jon Turteltaub, and released by Walt Disney Pictures, the team behind the “National Treasure” film series. The movie stars Nicolas Cage and Jay Baruchel with Alfred Molina, Teresa Palmer, and Monica Bellucci in supporting roles. The movie is named after a segment in Disney’s non-consecutive film pair, the 1940 film “Fantasia” and the 1999 film “Fantasia 2000” called “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice” starring Mickey Mouse, which in turn is based on the late-1890s symphonic poem by Paul Dukas and the 1797 Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ballad.

The Golden Compass (2007)

The Golden Compass is a 2007 fantasy adventure movie directed by Chris Weitz, from a screenplay by Weitz, and based on the 1995 novel “Northern Lights” by Philip Pullman, the first installment in Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” trilogy. It stars Dakota Blue Richards as Lyra Belacqua, Nicole Kidman as Marisa Coulter, and Daniel Craig as Lord Asriel, alongside Sam Elliott, Ian McKellen, and Eva Green. In the movie, Lyra joins a tribe of seafarers on a trip to the far North in search of children kidnapped by the Gobblers, a group supported by the universe’s rulers, the Magisterium.

Seventh Son (2014)

Seventh Son is a 2014 American fantasy film directed by Sergei Bodrov and starring Kit Harrington, Ben Barnes, Jeff Bridges, Alicia Vikander, and Julianne Moore. It is loosely based on the 2004 novel “The Spook’s Apprentice” by Joseph Delaney. The story centers on Thomas Ward, a seventh son of a seventh son, and his adventures as the apprentice of the Spook. After having its release date shifted numerous times, the movie was released in France on December 17, 2014, and in Canada and the United States on February 6, 2015, by Universal Pictures.

The Little Prince (2015)

The Little Prince is a 2015 animated fantasy adventure drama film directed by Mark Osborne and based on the 1943 novella of the same name by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. The film stars the voices of Jeff Bridges, Rachel McAdams, Paul Rudd, Bud Cort, Marion Cotillard, Benicio del Toro, James Franco, Ricky Gervais, Paul Giamatti, Riley Osborne, Albert Brooks and Mackenzie Foy. It is the first adaptation as a full-length animated feature of “The Little Prince”. The film relates the story of the book using stop-motion animation, which is woven into a computer-animated framing narrative about a young girl who has just met the book’s now-elderly aviator narrator, who tells her the story of his meeting with the Little Prince in the Sahara desert. [Source: www.popsugar.com]

The NeverEnding Story (1984)

The NeverEnding Story is a 1984 fantasy movie co-written and directed by Wolfgang Petersen, and based on the 1979 novel “The Neverending Story” by Michael Ende. The film was produced by Bernd Eichinger and Dieter Giessler. It stars Noah Hathaway, Barret Oliver, Tami Stronach, Patricia Hayes, Sydney Bromley, Gerald McRaney and Moses Gunn, with Alan Oppenheimer providing the voices of both Falkor and Gmork. The movie follows a boy who happens upon a magical book that tells of a young warrior who is given the task of stopping the Nothing, a dark force, from engulfing the wonderland world of Fantasia.

Pan’s Labyrinth (2006)

Pan’s Labyrinth is a 2006 dark fantasy film written, directed and co-produced by Guillermo del Toro. The film stars Ivana Baquero, Sergi López, Maribel Verdú, Doug Jones, and Ariadna Gil. The story takes place in Spain during the summer of 1944, five years after the Spanish Civil War, during the early Francoist period. The narrative intertwines this real world with a mythical world centered on an overgrown, abandoned labyrinth and a mysterious faun creature, with whom the main character, Ofelia, interacts. Ofelia meets several strange and magical creatures who become central to her story, leading her through the trials of the old labyrinth garden.

Beauty and the Beast (2017)

Beauty and the Beast is a 2017 American musical romantic fantasy film directed by Bill Condon from a screenplay by Stephen Chbosky and Evan Spiliotopoulos. Co-produced by Walt Disney Pictures and Mandeville Films, the movie is a live action adaptation of Disney’s 1991 animated film of the same name, itself an adaptation of Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont’s 1756 version of the fairy tale. It features an ensemble and choir cast including Emma Watson and Dan Stevens as the eponymous Belle and the Beast, with Luke Evans, Kevin Kline, Josh Gad, Ewan McGregor, Stanley Tucci, Audra McDonald, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Ian McKellen, and Emma Thompson in supporting roles.

Doctor Strange (2016)

Doctor Strange is a 2016 American superhero movie based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name. Produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, it is the 14th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The movie was directed by Scott Derrickson from a screenplay he wrote with Jon Spaihts and C. Robert Cargill, and stars Benedict Cumberbatch as neurosurgeon Stephen Strange along with Chiwetel Ejiofor, Rachel McAdams, Benedict Wong, Michael Stuhlbarg, Benjamin Bratt,  Scott Adkins, Mads Mikkelsen, and Tilda Swinton. In the film, Strange learns the mystic arts after a career-ending car crash.

The Hunger Games (2012)

The Hunger Games is a 2012 American dystopian action film directed by Gary Ross and based on Suzanne Collins’s 2008 novel of the same name. It is the first installment in “The Hunger Games” film series. The film stars Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Lenny Kravitz, Stanley Tucci, and Donald Sutherland. The movie is set in a dystopian post-apocalyptic future in the nation of Panem, where a boy and a girl from each of the nation’s 12 Districts are chosen annually as “tributes” and forced to compete in the Hunger Games, an elaborate televised fight to the death. Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take her younger sister’s place when her sister was initially selected as tribute. With her district’s male tribute, Peeta Mellark, Katniss travels to the Capitol to train and compete in the Hunger Games. [Source: www.screenrant.com]